#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Hello everyone, I hope you are all staying clear of the virus and everyone you know. It is indeed a tough time. We are almost two weeks here in a country wide lock down, they are not sure yet whether it is winning, but another week should tell. We are allowed to exercise in our own locality and only drive when it is for an essential service. Like most countries there have been some little scandals around this. Some people seem a) either think it’s a time to joke or b) its only everybody else who has to obey the edicts, they themselves are exempt!

I am probably listening to too much news but have been tapering off. I do enjoy Trevor Noah’s Daily Show and the people he has been interviewing. Bill Gates one was especially good.

I took time to watch the movie Wonder this week and thought it carried the spirit of the book which I loved.

We put our clocks back this week, as we head into winter. As usual it upsets my sleep patterns but I still like how it gives us more daylight hours. So count me as in favour!

What I read last week:

What I am reading now:

 

book cover

And I am about to start listening to…

book cover

Up next:

book cover
 

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c8cd94ed6d171cb9d89d

27 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. Hi Kathryn, just keeping myself busy reading some older posts. 😉 Although not my usual reading genre, I really enjoyed Paula Blackston’s Found Things and read book 2 Chocolate House recently.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It just makes me soooo mad when a few idiots cause havoc for everyone by putting them in danger of getting this devastating virus, yes maybe they won’t get it they’ll infect someone who could eventually die from it.
    I hope you love The Little Shop of Found Things as much as I did Kathryn, take care xo

    Liked by 2 people

  3. We’re just heading into spring here and the weather is starting to warm up. The social distancing is very disconcerting and inconvenient but once we were allowed to work from home, I’ve adjusted pretty well most of the time. (I still have some bad moments when the stress and worry get overwhelming!) It’s upsetting to have the rules and directives constantly shifting. I really don’t want to wear a mask just going out for a walk in my neighborhood! Normally this would be the start of a hugely busy few months of weekend events, parties, weddings, graduations, etc. A silver lining in all this is having more time for reading and getting back to book blogging, but it’s hard to focus much of the time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Laurie I can identify with it being hard to focus. Yes directives seem to fluctuate, but I guess everyone is feeling their way with this virus. I prefer to be cautious. However we’ve decided not to wear masks for the ordinary person which is great.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great books! I’m giving the news some space and trying to stay off social media because some people are driving me nuts. Getting together with 6 friends to go on a hike is NOT social distancing. It drives me crazy! You’ve got some great books going! I really want to pick up that Jennifer Ryan book and I loved that Jenny Colgan.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad you are doing well and managing OK! I didn’t realize until just now how much I enjoy “visiting” with my book friends around the world and hearing from everyone on Mondays! Isn’t it strange that we are on opposite side of the world and experiencing the exact same things right now?

    We enjoy Trevor Noah, too (did you listen to/read his book, Born a Crime? fabulous!) and that Bill Gates show was great. We also enjoy John Oliver & Stephen Colbert. Oh, and look for John Krasinsky’s “show” on Youtube – he put together a little homemade show called Some Good News focused on uplifting news. Very entertaining (and I may have gotten a little teary-eyed (in a good way), too!).

    Enjoy your books this week, Kathryn, and thanks for hosting!

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really like connecting with everyone around the world too Sue through book blogging. I must look for Born a Crime. Will look on You Tube for Some Good News. Always love stuff like that. Take care, stay well.

      Like

    1. Yes the mask thing is interesting. We haven’t been told to do that and I think I’d hate it. We still could be told to do it. I’d have to make one as I don’t have any.

      Like

  6. I still see people walking around without any gloves or masks on. I guess as long as you are social distancing and using hand sanitizer or washing your hands often you are following guidance.

    I’ve been reading more, but not like I think I should when stuck at home. Maybe my heart isn’t in it right now. The Little Shop of Found Things needs to be added to my wish list.

    Enjoy your week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Cheryl these are not normal times and like you I am somewhat surprised at the fact I am actually reading less. Perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised, very different and difficult times.

      Like

  7. I prefer having more light in the evening so I miss Daylight Savings.
    Our half hearted effort of lockdown is perhaps successful at flattening the curve so far, but our death toll is still climbing steadily. I think Ardens decision will prove to have been more effective.
    I’m looking forward to reading The Women’s Pages

    Wishing you a great reading week and good health

    Liked by 1 person

  8. We “sprang forward” at the beginning of March and I think I’m just now getting my body onto that schedule!

    We’re also sheltering in place, and it has been an adjustment, but my state is actually showing positive results from it so I can’t complain.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. We moved our clocks forward a couple of weeks ago – nice to see more of the sun. I loved Wonder – the book especially. And also enjoyed the Little Shop of Lost Things. Lots of great books you read. Have a great week reading. Certainly need those books in this time of uncertainty. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. It always seems to take me a week or two to adjust to the time change haha, I’m not even sure why. My body clock or whatever must be sensitive! Same here with news. I try to stay up to date but then I back away for my own mental health! So much info out there now it can feel overwhelming.

    The Little shop of Found Things sounds like a good one.

    Take care and be well this week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.