#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? This July!

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Well, welcome to the second half of the year!

This week my computer died, I’ve had it for seven years and it has given me great service… but still I want it to last longer. I was thinking it’s the price for technology advancement. Everything advances and is soon out of date. Ouch.

After some thought I bought a MacBook Air, being a Mac fan – on the whole. It is thinner than my MacBook Pro but I have easily got used to it. I discovered Safari would not let me comment on Blogger sites, which took up some of my time yesterday. However I then downloaded Google Chrome which does let me, so I guess I’ll be going between the two browsers.

How long do you expect a computer to last?!

What I read last week:

What I am reading now:

 

book cover

Up next:

book cover

Last Week’s Posts

Jackson     Emily March

Connect Five Books.  June – August

June Reading Digest

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=ef8b06cc10bc6002458d

20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? This July!”

  1. I only had a Mac when they first came out; my mom got one via discount through her work. Then it became all PC. My husband is a PC man, sometimes getting a new laptop every two years but I think this one is older. We use Chrome though. I use Gmail and am logged into it all the time so I am able to use Blogger through it and comment on Blogspot blogs.

    Like

  2. Oh, I can so relate!!! My last MacBook Pro lasted 10+ years! It was actually still going strong, but all the software had “upgraded” to the point where it would no longer work on my old machine – sigh. I wish they’d just stop upgrading everything every 10 minutes! ha ha Guess that makes me an old lady, huh? BTW, Firefox works GREAT with Macs – I have used it for decades. I hardly ever use Safari. I’ve never run into a site that didn’t work on Firefox.

    I want to read the new Tara Conklin novel – I really liked House Girl.

    Enjoy your books this week – and your new computer! And thanks for hosting the link-up –

    Sue

    2019 Big Book Summer Challenge

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE my MacBookAir. ENJOY yours!!

    I am not able to comment on MY OWN Blogger Blog using Safari either….CRAZY. I thankfully use Firefox, and it works.

    I can’t believe we are halfway through this year…pretty hard to believe how fast time goes.

    How are you liking THE GOLDEN HOUR…I couldn’t connect. I see THE LAST ROMANTICS is up next for you….couldn’t connect with that book either. Hope you have better luck.

    Have a wonderful first week of July…ENJOY your new Mac.

    Like

    1. I think I have connected with The Golden Hour, I am a little over dual time lines but so far so good. I will have to try The Last Romantics, may not be my thing but its from the library so that’s Okay.

      Like

  4. I usually expect four years from a computer but wish they would last longer. The hardest part for me is reconnecting to various sites since I forget passwords for the sites that automatically connect on my current computer. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Like

  5. I got a new MacBook before I retired. My old Mac lasted seven years, too. I learned through the process of getting a new Mac that I needed to automatically update. I wasn’t sure that I needed all those updates, but now I do that automatically.

    I’ve had a lot of trouble commenting. Finally I saw a post yesterday that told me how to change one setting on Safari to allow commenting. It worked.

    Like

    1. Please tell me what the change is, Deb.

      I saw something, but it was TOO complicated. I would appreciate it immensely if I could get it fixed. THANKS.

      Please e-mail me…silversolara AT Gmail DOT com

      Like

  6. Planned obsolescence sucks, seven years unfortunately seems very reasonable these days between software support withdrawal and cheap manufacturing. Three years seems to be the max laptops last in this house. I’m glad you were able to get a new computer though.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I use Google Chrome mostly, and it seems to work for me for the most part. I remember using Internet Explorer a few years ago, and now I could never use it! Sorry to hear your computer died… but yay for the new Macbook!

    Love that cover of Golden Hour.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.