#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Hope you are all keeping a head above water. This week I got some reading done and a bit of viewing – some on the TV – I am enjoying a British show The Trouble with Maggie Cole. I also watched half of the Colin Firth Pride & Prejudice (to be continued) via DVD, the first of the new David Letterman on Netflix and the movie The Two Popes. All good viewing.

I can see the I will use Netflix a lot more now that yesterday I sorted myself with a Google Chromecast. Two of my sisters and brother and spouses gathered for a fish ‘n chips tea (evening meal, not sure what you call tea!!) Saturday at my brother’s place and so I saw their Chromecast set up and that’s all the incentive I needed. I had been thinking about it for awhile.

What I read last week:

I also finished listening to

book cover

What I am reading now:

A long time book on my TBR. I saw her new book on NetGalley but wasn’t going to request it when I don’t know if I like her as an author, so off the shelf it comes – I picked it up at a Book Fair about four years ago.

book cover

I am listening to

book cover

Up next:

book cover

Last Week’s Posts

The Way Back Home.  Emilie Richards

Book to Screen

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=9c9b10dbdecdfb9300b0

34 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. Happy Reading everyone! Thanks for sharing your book list! I just finished a beautiful book from Andrew Zimmerman called “Journey: A Novel.” I really resonated with this book because it’s about a guy, Paul, who is stuck in the corporate game and has kind of his sense of self and gratitude for his family and for life in general. He takes a trip to Glastonbury and has a total spiritual awakening. He even meets a soul reader who reads his true self and what his purpose is and it flips his world upside down. He has to go back to his “normal life” and figure out what to do next….. This is book 1 in the series (can’t wait for the full trilogy to be out!). You can read a little more about the book and the author here if you’re interested http://andrewzimmermanbooks.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice to hear you got to enjoy the family gathering. I’m not sure how you have time to watch TV and read so much. I’m not a big TV fan – I blog while the TV is on, often on news programs. Then I go off to read/listen to my books. 🙂
    Of Literature and Lattes sounds cute. I really like the cover of The Last Correspondent.
    Have a good week and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you got things fixed up with Netflix so you can watch it more. The pandemic interrupting TV production schedules has switched us from mostly network/cable TV to mostly shows on streaming services now.

    Glad you enjoyed a family get-together. That is still out of the realm of possibility here (though some ignore the recommendations) – we haven’t seen any family since last year, except on Zoom!

    Looks like a great mix of different books for you this week – I love reading a variety.

    Enjoy your books and thanks for hosting the linkup!

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great week Kathryn, we watch a lot of Roku here at my house it’s free when you buy the Roku streaming device. I love Soraya’s novels can’t wait to hear about this one. Stay safe

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so glad I never get too invested in TV, because all these streaming services make me nutty.

    Great looking books these week. Love the cover of Christmas at the Island Hotel. Hope you enjoy your books.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I do like the cover of “Of Literature and Lattes”, and I see you have a seasonal read in there too! We are no longer allowed to gather socially iNSIDE with people who are not from our household, with a maximum of 6 being able to meet up outside. You don’t realise how much you take friends and family for granted until you can’t meet up with them! So glad you had a great evening with your siblings and spouses.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Louise, yes it is great to be able to meet up inside like we can. I don’t take it for granted as I see what is happening for all my blogger friends around the world. I just hope here in NZ we can keep it okay to do so, but its a sneaky virus.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi there Kathryn! So glad I could link up with you as well today. I’m usually at school early on Mondays, but today we have deep cleaning and I only have some admin to do. So yea!!!

    We mainly watch Netflix and we’ve cancelled our DSTV more than a year ago. Not that I watch that much tv overall. I’ve watched Pride & Prejudice last weekend! I’ve read Northanger Abbey for Fraterfest read-a-thon and just felt like a Jane Austen. Amazing how timeless her work remains.

    I love the title for The Brilliant life of Eudora Honeysett. Will have a look at it!

    Hope you will have a wonderful week and here’s my The Sunday Post #16

    Like

    1. Nice to get a little lee way in the morning Mareli, even though it is for deep cleaning. Yes Netflix has plenty of viewing and now that I can watch it on my TV I know I’ll watch it more.

      Like

  8. We call it dinner 🙂
    My daughters each have a chromecast on their tv’s, they sometimes troll each other by taking control of the others cast and pausing what they are watching or switching to something else.
    I hope you enjoy The Perfect Match

    Wishing you a great reading week

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I can’t wait to see what you thought about Literature and Lattes. I have almost bought it about 10 times and keep talking myself out of it. The Jenny Colgan looks lovely and it is on my shelf just waiting to be read. I think it might be next! Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Like

  10. Good luck with Chromecast! I have a bunch of shows I want to get to and I just need to make time for them all. So many shows (and books) not enough time haha. 🙂

    Hope you are well this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. We primarily use my husband’s Xbox for streaming but we have a Chromecast too. The Xbox doesn’t have every app so we use the Chromecast to cast other shows from our phones. I also use it for casting my laptop screen if I decide to do a workout from my home gym’s Facebook feed. The Chromecast definitely has a place in our little home!

    I read The Cafeyby the Sea by Jenny Colgan and Paradise Fields by Katie Fforde and enjoyed them both.

    The Colin Firth version of P&P is my favorite.

    Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Good idea to check out the author before requesting more of her books. I hope you enjoy it.

    I love fish and chips!

    Now I am curious about the Google Chromecast set-up.

    I want to read more of Jenny Colgan’s books. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.