#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break Well tomorrow we go up a level in our fight against Covid19. Not a biggie, but more people can go back to work like builders etc and some school children of workers will also go back. Still no shops open although now there can be online shopping. Last Friday, after just listening to David Whyte read one of his poems the next one rolled over to  a video of a young woman Doctor in Georgia USA who shared how she felt about her state totally opening up. How heartbreaking for those on the “war front” as she is.

We celebrated ANZAC Day on Saturday, when Australia and New Zealand remembers all our many people who served in various wars. As no groups were allowed, many people stood at their gates at 6am as dawn broke to give witness. As I go for my daily walks I see homemade poppies adorning many a gateway.

Poppies on Anzac Day

What I read last week:

I finished this doorstop of a book and really enjoyed another crime story with characters I mostly already knew.
book cover
I finished listening to this audiobook which was thoroughly enjoyable. Great listening for these times. I generally enjoy anything by Jenny Colgan. I will be eyeing up the next one in this series while waiting also for her new one out this year which is a continuation of another favourite series of hers.
book cover
I finished this review book, review for it soon.
book cover
And… even another, just today. This was off my own shelf, a 2003 one and one I bought from a second hand book fair o 2017. Mary Alice Monroe always has an environmental aspect to her books and this time it included birds of prey. I loved it. Heart warming read for these times.
book cover

What I am reading now:

I finally started listening to this one. I’ve had it for ages and also have a hardback copy. I wanted to listen to someone I find inspiring. Someone who makes me hope in and for humanity! Book Cover I am about to start reading a review book, to do with love, secrets and obsession! book cover

Up next:

I am not sure but most likely a paperback of some sort  from my TBR shelf.
 

Last Week’s Posts

Recent New to Me Authors I Want to Read More

The Heirloom Garden.  Viola Shipman

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=9c9b10dbdecdfb9300b0

31 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. Ah, yes, we just heard on the news today that NZ’s PM has the highest approval rating of any world leader for the way she’s handled this crisis. Us, not so much! Terrible what is happening in GA, even as their numbers continue to increase. We’re a mess over here – happy to live in a state with reasonable leaders who are working together with other reasonable leaders in our region.

    Wow, your reading has increased! So many good books and a good variety, too. So glad you have finally got to Becoming – I think you will find it warm, funny, and uplifting – enjoy!

    Thanks for hosting –

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Like

  2. A nice celebration…pretty poppies.

    I don’t want our state to open up yet, but I think our governor is thankfully being very cautious, I probably will still stay at home even when it does open up. I’ll give it a bit longer.

    ENJOY your books…stay safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Michelle Obama’s book so much. I miss her influence in the US right now. Hope you enjoy the book as well.

    The homemade poppies are beautiful. Praying the reopenings go well with minimal new corona cases. We are supposed to start opening up Friday where I live. I’ll still stay at home most of the time though.

    Like

  4. Georgia is the state next to us and I’ve been really surprised with how they’ve opened up so quickly. Our governor announced last week that the stay at home order will be in place until May 1st and then there will be heavy restrictions. Since our income isn’t impacted at all we will continue living like the stay at home order is in place for the time being – no point in risking anything if we don’t have to. I’m so glad you enjoyed Beach Street Bakery! I absolutely loved it which isn’t a huge surprise as I usually enjoy all her books. I saw your comment about being surprised we’re still having toilet paper shortages. It’s crazy! Toilet paper and most other paper products, flour, baking powder/soda, and yeast are all still pretty hard to find. Not impossible but definitely not reliable.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We just got our ‘working from home’ directive extended to the end on May. Unreal, but we are doing what we have to, to stay healthy and to beat this thing. I’m listening to Becoming right now too. It is wonderful! Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. By me, our lockdown continues. No changes yet, but I’m sure they will start opening up things soon. I just hope not too soon. I want everyone to stay safe.

    Your books look really good especially Best Behavior. I hope you have a great week. Take care and stay safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Looks like good choices Kathryn. I am also just now finally reading Michelle Obama’s book and loving it. I’m to the part where she and Barak first met. Some of our States are also opening up, I just hope they’re not shooting themselves in the foot as I am in the group of more vulnerable because of my age. Have a great week and stay safe

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy ANZAC Day! And there are definitely mixed feelings here in the US as various states do lockdown relaxation at different levels. I hope your measured response goes well- I think that’s a reasonable way to do it. We have to be so careful. Take care and be well this week!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. It’s going to interesting to see how NZ and Australia fares as our countries begin to relax restrictions.
    I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read by Colgan, I’ve never had much luck with Monroe though.

    Wishing you a great reading week, be well x

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Our veterans’ day is Nov. 11 – when we have Remembrance Day and wear poppies.
    I so enjoy Monroe’s books – haven’t read this one tho. Have to start Becoming soon.
    Have a great week of reading ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I hope everything goes well as more things open. We are in the middle of the surge, so we are not ready for any of that yet. I haven’t minded buying groceries online, but my paper products and flour will be running low soon and they seem hard to get.

    The Little Beach Street Bakery sounds good. I hope you enjoy all your books.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I thoroughly enjoyed Becoming. I read the hardback, which has photos…now I want to listen to it, as I love hearing her speak. She is inspirational!

    Too bad our current administration is headed by someone so beneath the Obamas.

    I feel bad about the states opening up already; so dangerous!

    Stay safe and well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.