#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Thanks for all the sympathy over my car and sharing similar stories from some of you. Made me feel better. The ants seem to have abated, a few show up and I get rid of them so hoping that will be all for now!!

What I read last week:

I really enjoyed Still Life,  so I hope I keep enjoying the series as it seems not all readers like the first few books,  then love them after that. I finally took a look/read at The Boardwalk Bookshop, and have concluded it will be my last Mallery book I’ll read. I have moved on!

Slow and Steady Reads

This year I have really taken to slow and steady reads. Generally I choose either a classic or a book I guess will be a little slow plot wise, or a book so full of lines I just want to mull over, that I assign it to the above shelf. I read in the morning with a cup of coffee and I really look forward to it. These Precious Days I am reading last thing at night and I find that’s working too.

What I am reading now:

Most likely this book if I get engaged with it.

book cover

Listening and also a reread. I so love this series.

Somewhere Between Luck and Trust

Up next:

The Sunshing Girls 

Last Week’s Posts

Secrets in the Stacks.    Lynn Cahoon

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

28 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. So glad you enjoyed Still Life, Kathryn! It’s a good series. I’ve only read one Kate Morton, but I enjoyed it. And you know how much I enjoyed These Precious Days! Fabulous on audio. Wait until you get to the section on Sookie – very moving. Ann has a great sense of humor, too.

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue
    Book By Book

    Like

    1. Unfortunately I am going to have to return the book – library – before I get to Sookie, but I was just looking at it last night. I loved her essay on book covers which I read last night and caused me to look ahead. Will have to re request book to finish. There are readers in line waiting so will be awhile before I get it back.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll have to look for that Patchett book – that cover is great. Her fiction has been hit or miss for me but I haven’t read essays from her so I’ll take a look. Have a good week, Kathryn. Glad to hear the ants have mostly moved on.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, you have been through a lot…ants are so hard to get rid of. I hope your car is fixed now? Hmm…perhaps I should read Penny’s later books? Yes, after a bit, we do burn out on certain authors, but isn’t the ride nice?
    I understand about your slow steady reads. I read not just for entertainment, but to be changed in the process. Doctors and Friends sounds good. Looking forward to your thoughts. Happy reading!

    Like

  4. That book Doctors and Friends gave me a total deja vu for a moment. I read a really interesting blog post about book cover trends and having a side-on face was one of the trends mentioned. I had a real flashback for a moment lol.
    I’ve not heard of Emilie Richards before, but it’s always a very positive sign when you re-read a book! I believe I’ve seen the clockmaker daughter around though. I like the cover on that one, it’s quite eye-catching xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Doctors and Friends is a medical fiction book and is by K Martin who herself has been emergency doctor. She wrote this book about a pandemic just before Covid took us over. Then she herself got Covid and has had a bad long Covid. She says after two years (on IG) that she has just got some smell back after everything smelling putrid. Also low energy etc.

      Like

  5. I love that cover art for The Clockmaker’s Daughter. I’m tempted to take a cliser look! And fingers crossed your ant visitors have gone for goid. We got ants in our caravan once and the only thing that discouraged them was clove oil on cotton wool everywhere. They hated the smell – as did we!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Louise Penny, Kathryn, but I do need to start this series from the beginning. I’ve read the middle books but not the earlier or latest ones. I also enjoy Kate Morton and need to catch up on her books. Susan Mallery I run hot and cold on. I’ve never read Ann Patchett. Do you recommend her? The Sunshine Girls appeals to me, so I will be watching for your thoughts. Have a wonderful week, Kathryn. ❤📚

    Like

    1. I haven’t really read much of Ann Patchett, she is a more literary fiction writer and I read only a little of that. However this is a collection of essays and is very readable.

      Like

  7. Nice looking books for you. Slow and steady sounds just fine. I have some longer books waiting for me. I’m contemplating my reading plan for next year.
    I think I stopped reading Mallery a few years back. I’m cautious about some of the popular authors unless they are clearly on the sweet (rather than sex) side of romance.
    Have a good week and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Get lost ants! Don’t they know they belong outside? Seriously though- that’s so annoying when they trespass inside! And slow and steady reads are good. That sounds appealing right now.

    Hope you have a nice week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So glad the ants seem to have abated. They drive me crazy! I have The Clockmaker’s Daughter on audible and am planning on reading it next year. I love slow and steady reads and read a chapter or two at night though I haven’t tried the in the morning routine. That sounds lovely. Have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Yeah, a lot of people say the Three Pines books really pick up at around book 5. I enjoyed the entire series and was hooked from Still Life.

    I’m going to start These Precious Days soon. I was planning to read it on my e-reader, but I heard an interview with Ann Patchett on the Libro FM podcast that was so delightful that I decided to do it on audio instead!

    Like

  11. Some good looking books on your list. Sorry about the Mallery ones. I used to read all of her books years ago, but not so much anymore. I don’t really know why. The Sunshine Girls looks really good. I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. That’s a good idea to have some slow and steady reads. Maybe I’ll do that next year so I can read some of my longer books, but not feel pressured to finish them quickly. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. The cover of Somewhere between Luck and Trust caught my eye; it looks like my home. And I think it is! I saw a review of the first book of the series mention Asheville, NC, which is exactly where my permanent home is! Woohoo!

    Lesley at Coastal Horizons posted a review of These Precious Days recently. She loved it. I hope you continue to enjoy it as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.