#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Welcome in everyone.

I had a great week but went down a rabbit hole of reading and viewing as I am exploring ways to help my great nephew develop reading skills. It is so good that researchers and places share their information on You Tube and blog sites. Special thanks to Pennsylvania and Florida this time for feeding my mind overtime, giving me ideas and material to work with!  I can see I will be spending quite a bit of time doing this so my own reading will lag. But if there is one thing I am passionate about its reading for all!

I am also expecting this book to arrive from Amazon soon and that will have me down that hole!

Structured Literacy Interventions

In the meantime I am reading on my Kindle

Equippted for reading Success

What I read last week:

Two very good books. Second one was an audiobook finish.

What I am reading now:

Reading and enjoying.

book cover

Also my slow and steady Gentleman in Moscow. I know readers have said I’d start reading it fast because it gets so good…. and it does!  But for me a 20 to 30 minute a day savouring it is perfect. It deserves it!

I am listening to Thank You for Listening. Looks like it could be a self help book but it is by narrator Julia Whelan and is fiction.  And has a narrator as the main character!

Thank You for Listening

Up next:

From the library.  I may get to it!

The Hotel Nantucket

 

Last Week’s Posts

A Certain Darkness.Anna Lee Huber

Library Loot

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

22 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. I was the same way with Gentleman in Moscow. It took me forever to finish it because I found I preferred to read a chapter or two a night but I did love it. I’m so excited to get to Dewey Decimated. That’s one of my favorite series. Good luck with your nephew’s reading. We are homeschoolers and I am forever tumbling down learning related rabbit holes! I hope you’ve had a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sure that your nephew will love reading after your help. Keep us posted.

    I didn’t know you were a reading teacher…I thought you taught computers. I was a business teacher, but everyone thinks I was an English teacher. LOL!!

    Nice books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Elizabeth I was a general classroom teacher which of course involved the teaching of reading and maths etc etc. We had a good number of computers in the classroom that meant we used them mainly for writing but other things too.

      Like

  3. All these books look like great reads. How lucky your nephew is to have your expertise. May he blossom in his reading. My youngest really didn’t bloom til Gr. 4 when a male teacher motivated him. I did what I could, same as with my other 2, but he needed longer.
    Happy reading this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So wonderful that you are helping your great nephew learn to read! Believe it or not, my older son really struggled learning to read in first grade & got very frustrated. I actually made my own books for him because he felt like the beginner reader books were too babyish! Now, at 28, he’s the son who is constantly reading & plows through 1000-page epic fantasies like they’re short stories!

    So glad you are savoring and enjoying A Gentleman in Moscow. And Thank You for Listening sounds intriguing!

    Enjoy all your books this week and thanks for hosting the linkup!

    Sue
    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Are you still teaching? Or just take a keen interest in teaching students to read? (Can you hear my applause?) I am still reading the same The Winter Sea as last week, enjoying it very much. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Linda, no longer teaching. Retired. However when a family person is struggling to read it awakens my love of teaching reading. Great that you are enjoying The Winter Sea. I tried out your recipe for the peanut butter biscuits and am enjoying them!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Dewey Decimated looks good. I rarely read fiction, but when I do it is cozy cat mysteries.How kind of you to help your nephew. Thanks for hosting. Have a wonderful week.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Youtube can be a wonderful resource for sure. Glad you were able to find some good ones! I enjoyed your Huber review as well- I am going to start that series maybe this week.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.