#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

A lot of very muggy heat really knocked me off my perch this week. Far hotter than I’ve ever known. And now we get the remains of a cyclone. At least the temperature has dropped.

As well as reading I did some viewing, two New Zealand shows as it turns out. One set in a vineyard down south, and a movie about a Downs Syndrome lass, and as it was filmed locally, it was fun spotting and knowing all the locations.  Now I need to find something else.

What I read last week:

Three good reads. Enjoyed them all.

What I am reading now:

book cover

And listening to…

book cover

Up next:

A review book from a favourite Australian author.

book cover 

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=a8b40ada7693d64e5923

29 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. Too many good books here! The Parfit Knight is on my TBR list. I can see you have plenty to read but I definitely wanted to recommend a historical fiction book that I recently finished called “Matilda Empress” by Lise Arin. I love a historically accurate piece of fiction that teaches me but mostly entertains, and this book does just that. Not only that, Matilda is a total badass that you are rooting for throughout and makes you proud to be a woman (lol). In all seriousness though, Matilda, Empress of the Holy Roman Empire, faced nothing but hurdles (all due to the men in her life). Her father, King Henry I of England, promises rule to her over England and Normandy but upon his passing her cousin (a Count) takes it all away. What follows is a long and violent civil war, not to mention a passionate affair they are having which causes a LOT of problems. It’s hard to love a man who has taken everything from you but then also gives you a son. SO MUCH DRAMA. Highly recommend it. You can read more on the author’s site – https://www.lisearin.com/
    If you end up reading it I would love to know what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll take some hot and muggy we’re expecting snow again LOL
    I hope you loved Roberts The Awakening as much as I did, I had the audio edition, Amazing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So sorry you’re having to deal with hot muggy weather but glad the temps are dropping even though it sounds like you’re getting tons of rain. The Rhys Bowen series is one I want to catch up on. I read and enjoyed the first few and the last few but missed the ones in the middle. Have I told you our favorite nurse at the hospital is from New Zealand? She’s been teaching Will some words in Maori. Have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s 20 F here today with biting wind and snow on the ground! But I get it – I hate muggy heat, too. Spring and fall are my favorite seasons!

    I’m reading The Editor at the end of the month – the next pick for my neighborhood book group 🙂

    Enjoy your books this week and stay cool! Thanks for hosting the linkup!

    Sue
    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We were at 4 degrees this morning – but I’m better with that than humidity. Besides, we will get that in a few months anyway! Have a great reading week!

    Like

  6. I’ve read and enjoyed Mariah Stewart and Nora Roberts before. And A Family of Strangers looks quite good. I need to branch out and read more Australian authors. Hope your weather cooperates for you this week. We’re dealing with below normal cold temps.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I will share some of my snow with you if you share some sunshine with me. Your books sound great. Hope you have a nice week.

    Like

  8. I hope the temp over there gets cooler for you. I hate the heat here in Belgium in summer so I can’t even imagine because it doesn’t get nearly as hot here. =/

    Like

  9. Sorry you are having to deal with hot and humid.
    I’m glad you enjoyed The Parfit Knight and the other books too.
    I hope you have a good week and Happy Reading!

    Like

  10. Look like good reads. I hope your heat dies down. I’d like to see more NZ shows. Have you seen Vigil? It’s a BBC mystery drama- nice cast.

    I read one of the books in that Rhys Bowen series and liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Muggy is no good. I am glad the temperatures are a bit cooler now. The Editor looks like a fun read. I hope you are enjoying it. Have a great week, Kathryn!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.