#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Greetings to you all. I so enjoy hearing what you are all reading and how you all are. My concern goes out to those of you who are struggling with your own health issues or those of loved ones. I think of you often.

For me, sun filled days at the moment. I have booked a Covid booster shot for this afternoon. Just after this post goes live.  I think Omicron has just found its way in through our border so better to be as ready as possible. Today marks when they start doing children 5 – 11 years. We are up to at least 90% of rest of population double dosed I think.

In other news the volcano near Tonga certainly sent shock waves around the world. Just waiting to see how the people of Tonga are doing.

And hello Australia. This time fully behind your actions in regards to a certain ejection from your country!!

What I read last week:

What I am reading now:

A review book.

Goodbye Again

And audiobook.

Promises and Primroses

Up next:

I think it will be this library book I picked up off the shelf when I went to return a library book. It was my first place I had to show my vaccine pass to get in. As well as mask up of course.

This was published in 2007 and is a backlist book of an author I enjoy.

book cover Last Week’s Posts

Jill Shalvis The Family You Make

Books on my Buy List

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=a8b40ada7693d64e5923

29 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. I’m a whole day late with my visiting and commenting again, even though I had the day off for MLK Jr. Day yesterday. I haven’t read any of the books on your list this week, but they look like good ones for comfort reading.
    Nice to hear how well NZ is doing! Here in Massachusetts, mask mandates are being left up to individual cities and towns. Omicron was known and present in the U.S. for over a month before our library posted “Masks Recommended” on our entry doors! Most of us on staff have stayed fully masked throughout and the service desks still have the makeshift plexiglass barriers that were put up when we reopened to the public in July 2020.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the catch up Kathryn I so applaud your country for its vaccination status, imagine omicron just hitting your shores and we’re still fighting over whether or not to wear masks, 65% of us are vaccinated and omicron is running rampant from shore to shore with over 700 thousand new cases per day. It’s crazy so it’s good to hear a success story like NZ. My family has been boosted since November.

    I also applaud Australia for ejecting the tennis player, rules are rules and it makes me mad to think some people think they don’t apply to themselves.

    And I think you’ll really like The Barbara Delinksky book

    Stay safe

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is awesome with the 90% vaccinated. Good luck with your booster. I was sick for about 24 hours, but I’ll take it. 🙂

    I liked the look of Meet Me In Scotland…I love Scotland…I’ll go there again. 🙂

    Take care, and stay safe and healthy.

    Like

  4. Wow, Kathryn – you are lucky to live in NZ! 90% fully vaccinated?? Unthinkable here, where vaccines have been politicized in crazy ways. And omicron just now entering your country? Glad you are being cautious and getting boosted – it is so crazy contagious! My husband had his booster shot and is the only one in the family who escaped COVID!

    Looks like some wonderful reading for you, with lots of variety. And sunshine sounds wonderful!! Very cold and gloomy here. I want to see the sun again!

    Enjoy your books this week and thanks for hosting the linkup.

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Like

  5. Bring some sun my way. Rainy and snowy here.
    How nice that you are dipping into your backlist is fun. One day, I would love to cut it down by 50%. Maybe if I ever stop requesting books on tour.
    Thanks for sharing. Hope you have a nice week.

    Like

  6. So fun that you are dipping into the backlist of a favorite author. I am a “completist” with some of my favorites and it’s so interesting to track their career and note how their writing changes over time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Honestly, the ‘Novax’ situation was an attempt by our government to distract from their many other failures, particularly the RAT debacle and the strain on our hospitals, though I don’t think he should have been allowed in either.
    I’m glad NZ escaped any dangerous repercussions from the volcano eruption, I really feel for the Tongans and hope they get the help they need quickly.

    Wishing you a great reading week

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do hope the Tongans do get help. I think they are talking about air dropping until it is safe to land. Sending a couple of ships up as well. No doubt Aussie doing similar. Scary stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Hopefully everyone weathers the repercussions from the volcano. Glad to hear you’re getting your booster. Just got mine last week. And great news so-and-so was ejected. Good riddance. Great books – so love Mariah Stewart. More of your book selections I have to add to my TBR! Happy reading

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds like NZ is doing a good job on vaccinations. We have a high degree of illness going around, flu and strep as well as Covid.
    I heard about the Tonga Volcano eruption but saw very little news about it.
    Looks like you have had some good reading this past week.
    I hope the booster goes well and you have another good week!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. New Zealand has done a great job handling COVID. My husband and daughter got their boosters last week and my son was finally vaccinated at the end of the year, but I still worry that we will get it.

    The Tonga Volcanic Eruption has been a big deal here as we’ve had tsunami warnings up and down the coast. We didn’t have a tsunami, but we did have riptides–which can be a problem and I’m glad we didn’t go to the beach this weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.