#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Hope you all had a good reading week. I did and moving along into new books. I am thinking of the garden and need to go to the centre to see about pumpkin seeds and a tomato plant. And soon bean planting time.

I had to take my sewing machine to be serviced so that was a little trip north by half an hour. I do have a back up machine so hasn’t totally stopped me!

I set my sister up at the library with her own library card etc. Oh they have nice new cards and a small one to go on your key ring. Hmmm –  I wonder if I “lost” my card!  Now I will set up a tablet so she can access Libby online especially for audiobooks. She reads differently to me, I call me “light and soft” and her “heavy and hard” in terms of reading! However thanks to all the bloggers out there I have good suggestions for her. She can only read large print now so a little limiting, but they still have good options. Yay for libraries.

What I read last week:

What I am reading now:

book cover

And listening to…

book cover

Up next:

book cover

Last Week’s Posts

Be My Ghost.  C. J. Perry

One Hobby Leads to Another

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=a8b40ada7693d64e5923

32 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. I love the library but I rarely go since I download my books and audiobooks straight from the app, which is so convenient especially during this pandemic.
    Maybe if you conveniently dropped your card…. 😅

    Like

  2. My sister and I read different books for the most part, too, but we share some favorites like Tana French and Louise Penny.
    Yes, yay for libraries! If you change your library card here, it automatically carries over to OverDrive/Libby so you don’t have to change your account at all or create a new one. Supposedly the e-books and e-audio borrowing counts towards activity so the library card won’t expire after two years of inactivity if it’s just used for digital stuff, but I’m not sure that’s actually true!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a fun week! So strange to hear you talk about planting veggies when things are winding down here! I agree – libraries are the best. I have a “book buddy” through the library, an elderly woman I bring books to, and she needs large print now, too – there are usually plenty of options. And with a tablet, your sister can set the font size however she likes.

    Can’t wait to see what you thought of Project Hail Mary – that is on my stack for fall (which is quickly running out! Never enough time for all the books!) and my first Karen White is in that stack, too.

    Enjoy your books this week and thanks for hosting!

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely to set your sister with the card. I have never tried Libby. We still have ebooks at the library. Loved the Higgins book – will check out your others. Have a great reading week!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My daughter and I are totally different readers too, which is hard when I have a really good book I think she should read. Meh. Oh well, to each their own, right?

    I keep eyeballing Patti Callahan’s book. I think I’m going to have to add it to my TBR list.

    Have a great week and happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have caught up with reading, so that is a good thing. October has several books, but most of them are small.

    Hope you enjoy The Christmas Spirits on Tradd Street. I can’t believe the series is almost over. Once Upon A Wardrobe and To Scotland with Love also sound like great reads.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh you’re gearing up for spring and here every thing is slowly dying. My tomato plants look like Charlie Brown tends them now LOL. I loved the Karen White book, how is the narration? And I want the Andy Weir too. Thanks Kathryn

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such a gift to set your sister up with her own library card! I have a library account in two counties; the most recent one gave me the little keyring version of my card too. So cute (even though I don’t use it, lol).

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That’s very kind of you to help your sister get all set up for the library. I’ve begun a collection of library cards in my travels! I like carrying it in my wallet but anything else with a barcode gets saved to an app so I always have it with me.

    I’m glad you have a backup sewing machine!

    Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I am definitely a Light and Soft reader as well! Let me know what you think of the Patience Griffin book. I’ve got several books in the series on my shelf but have neve gotten started on it. We are about to be done with fresh tomatoes here and I will be so sad. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes your own tomatoes from the garden are the best. I hope mine does well this year. It will be interesting to see what the Patience Griffin book is like, I am hoping I will want to read the whole series.

      Like

  11. Nice that you got to help your sister set up for reading.
    All your current books look good.
    I haven’t read Eloisa James in several – many years. I guess my tastes have changed a bit.
    Have a good week with Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I would love to know what you thought of Hail Mary. My husband has that book. I will read after he has read it. I like science fiction here and there. I don’t really blog anymore but I still love seeing what you read every month. I will hopefully do once a month book recap, even if it is only a few books.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Viki I liked Hail Mary, I listened to it. It was good and well narrated. However found it a bit long. Great aspects to it and different ending to The Martian.

      Like

  13. Ha ha! I keep wondering about “losing” my card to get a keyring card too! I have my kids’ cards on my key ring, but mine still lives in my wallet.

    If your sister mostly reads large print, Libby will work perfectly for her as she can adjust the font size. I tend to increase the size of the font for my e-reading too.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Great looking books! You have reminded me that I need to update my library card. Some time during the Pandemic, it expired! I didn’t know they ever expired, as that was a first for me in all these years.

    Enjoy your week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.