Review

Big Lies in a Small Town. Diane Chamberlain

Book Cover

Published: St Martin’s Press
Date 14th January 2020
Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Banner

If you ever had any doubt that you must let go the past so that you can move into the future then this book will certainly convince you of it being so true.

Morgan Christopher has the huge task of restoring a mural painted by Anna Dale in 1940. Morgan has been unfairly in prison for the past year, because of a boyfriend who was a coward. This is an opportunity for her, although she knows nothing about restoring painting. Plus there is a time limit. And why did the well known artist Jesse Williams name her as the person who must do it?

Anna Dale has been given the task of painting the mural in Edenton  to hang in the post office. She moves there for awhile while she paints it so that she can get a feel for the place, its history and people. A few young students help her, Jesse among them. Anna has come from the north and is rather wondering of the racist ways still present here in this town and she is to run up against it in unpleasant ways.

The less said about the plot the better. It needs to unfold for the reader so that you have an opportunity to see it play out before your eyes. The story is told between Anna and Morgan. The chapters are short, so this time I could easily live with the dual time line. There was no time to miss one character because I was speedily back with her. As well, their stories of working on the mural and the mystery it presents links up so seamlessly.

I loved this book. It held me in its thrall all the way through. There is mystery, challenge, injustice, racism and violence – but not too much, just a taste. The characters of Anna and Morgan – nothing not to love. Jesse was another who in the ’40’s I cheered on. And his family.

All I can say is don’t miss out on this one. I wish it went on much further, but maybe Diane Chamberlain knows where to stop!

16 thoughts on “Big Lies in a Small Town. Diane Chamberlain”

  1. Although this isn’t my preferred reading genre, I’ve been hearing LOT of great things about this book. I’m glad you liked it so much, Kathryn.

    Like

    1. Thanks Mary, yes that is very exciting news and she so deserves to now be getting the recognition for a life time of hard work. From what I see of her too on video etc, she is an exceptionally nice person as well.

      Like

  2. I haven’t read this author, but from what I’ve heard I think I would love her books. I also love dual timelines so this is also a reason I might like it.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.