Review

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? This June.

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

I know for most of you – the start of summer. For me the start of winter and just as exciting. We were hit with a cold blast throughout the country which I found quite delicious for the winter fire cosy aspect, and not quite so delicious because of the walk in a biting cold southerly wind – not such fun.

So now I am ready to see what June brings, here we have a long weekend as its Queen’s Birthday weekend, I’ve already celebrated with a bit of book buying with a 20% discount at the local shop and bought a set of books for a niece. Listening to a podcast this morning I discovered Sally Rippin is Australian and the illustrator of the books is Japanese living in New Zealand. Perfect for my niece with an Australian dad and a New Zealand mother. How did I just do that unknowingly! Hope she likes them, Billie B Brown is toted as a feisty heroine. Audrey is 6 1/2 yrs so I am hoping this set will be great winter read alone books for her. They are for emerging readers.

book cover

 

What I read last week:

The Bookshop is a sad but beautifully written book, and really well narrated. Maybe I’ll watch the movie as its in our local library. Ayesha at Last and Pride Prejudice and Other Flavors  as it turned out had a Pride and Prejudice flavour to them and I very much liked them both.

What I am reading now:

I am just over a third through A Family of Strangers and enjoying it, it has a similar idea to it as the Jill Shalvis book I read recently The Lemon Sisters, where a sister takes over caring for the children of another sister. However this feels far more realistic and well… a little sinister.

book cover

I am listening to one of my Audible sale books

book cover

Up next:

A review book and one from the pile of requested books from the library!

 

Last Week’s Posts

The Lemon Sisters   Jill Shalvis

Looking back at May Reading.

Line break

 

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=4ae0aa00e4cf3ba16f6d

18 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? This June.”

  1. I started reading Jackson yesterday! Only a few pages in but I liked the last Emily March book I read (which was also my first of hers). Enjoy the winter fires. It was a long season for us this year so I’m happy for our spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We are supposed to be entering summer, but it feels like October here.

    Nice week – I actually do not know any of these books, but I love the cover on THE BOOKSHOP. Too bad it is sad.

    Have a wonderful week of books and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooh a cozy fire sounds nice. We’ve had storms all week and it was cool today even though it was sunny, so a fire sounds pretty good! And I hope your niece loves the book set!

    Enjoy your long weekend! 🙂

    Like

  4. The long weekend isn’t till next week here, it’s weird how the Queens birthday just seems to be celebrated at different times in different commonwealth countries.

    Have a great reading week, and that’s a great gift for your niece.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.