#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Greetings all. Well I had a quiet week but with lots of good reading on the whole. I adore Gary D. Schmidt books and this last one was excellent. The Wartime Book Club is an audiobook for review and it too was excellent. RaeAnne Thayne is always a reading pleasure and I ended the week with a debut book for review.  My slow and steady book is going well and the 20-24 minutes I set aside for it most days seems to quickly slide by. It is so relaxing to sit with a cup of coffee and the slow and steady book once the morning chores are done.

Weather wise we certainly seem to have settled into Autumn and some days I even wear socks. I am keeping a track of highest temp for my town each day as I am making a temperature quilt to record 2024 temps. Just to see for fun.

What I read last week:

What I am reading now:

Just starting

The siren of Sussex

Listening to…

I’ve never read a book by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, and as she is said to be an early writer of the modern historical romance story I thought I ‘d give her a try.

A Rose in Winter

Still reading an progressing in my slow and steady about 450 pages read.

book cover

Up next:

The Wild Lavender Bookshop

 

Line break

 

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

21 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. My reading is going slowly which makes me cranky even if I’m enjoying my books. I really want to read more Mimi Matthews. The one book I read by her was really good. I hope you’ve been having a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Autumn…shouldn’t you be heading into Spring? I’m in the Caribbean and we’ve had a hotter than normal first few months of the year; it’s making me dread summer and wishing we were more proactive on climate change when it would have made a difference.

    Oooh I loved The Prince of Tides, book and movie…but I know each book is a different experience for each reader. If it helps there’s one reader looking forward to your thoughts at the end as you continue to slog through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I live in the southern hemisphere down in New Zealand so we are definitely going into Autumn! I don’t envy you at all going in to the hot weather of summer.

      Like

      1. Oh New Zealand! Okay. Was worried that it was American weather gone wild. & Yeah it’s unseasonably, unbearable, uncomfortably, unusually hot here and it’s not summer yet. Help lol

        Like

  3. Lots of good reading for you, Kathryn! You are inspiring me to catch up on the Gary Schmidt books I haven’t read yet AND to finally read The Prince of Tides or another Pat Conroy.

    The temperature quilt sounds wonderful! It’s a pretty design … though I guess yours will look a bit different since January is summer and July is winter (still hard to wrap my head around that!). Show us a picture when it is finished!

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue
    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I had never heard of a temperature quilt before, Kathryn. What a novel idea! And a lovely selection of books. I have also been wearing socks and wrapping up warmer in layers to go out. Have a wonderful week and enjoy your reads. 💕📚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deb Prince of Tides is really interesting, I like Pat Conroy’s style of writing. I’ve read or heard that his every book has elements of his own life in them. I really liked his wife’s book on his life.

      Like

  5. I’ve only read one Woodiwiss (8 years ago) and gave it 3 stars. It was written 50 years ago! It was a challenge for me because of how HR has been modernized. I much prefer Mimi Matthews’ style of HR. That said, I came to read HR quite late as an older reader. I think if I’d read as a younger reader (teenager) I’d have had a different take on the genre.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree with you Mary, will listen this one out but it does not really appeal because of how it approaches the whole story. I agree maybe too as a teen I may have liked it more.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.