#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Welcome to another Monday. Overcast here with possible rain. An indoor day I think. I had a quiet week, as I live by myself that’s fairly easy! On Friday I met up with my great nephew, for a writing session. We’ve been reading for the last two years but now we are tackling writing. He likes his teacher this year, as he said to me, I’ve learned more in the last week from her than I did from all of last year. Fortunately last year’s teacher has gone from the school now.

I hear Australia lamenting its reading/ maths standards and New Zealand has been for a while. Our government is wanting schools to do an hour of maths and hour of reading and writing a day. I hope it comes about. My nephew didn’t look too happy about it when I mentioned it to him! Schools are expected to do too many other things as well, or here they are anyway.

What I finished reading last week:

What I am reading now:

book cover

And starting to listen to…book cover

I did a DNF on my previous slow read by Jaclyn Moriarty  as it just wasn’t for me. I have now started on a book by Pat Conroy – The Prince of Tides. P.74/666book cover

Up next:

book cover 

Last Week’s Posts

A Catered Quilting Bee. Isis Crawford

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

39 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading?”

  1. I’ve DNF’d three books already this year. I think I’m getting better at giving up on a book I’m not enjoying. I Hope you’re loving the Pat Conroy book. I’m so glad your nephew is having a much better time at school. A good teacher makes such a huge difference.

    Like

  2. The sun is currently shining here but it’s a bit cool (13 C). It’s very nice of you to spend so much time with your nephew, helping him with his reading and writing. I’m sure you’re making a big difference in his life.

    I’ve only read Beach Music by Pat Conroy but it was good. I need to read Prince of Tides and watch the movie someday.

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Writing session with your gran-nephew? Sounds a fantastic project!
    I’m hearing from people I talk to every week, that school students in NZ have basically NO homework. Coming from the demanding French education system (at least demanding a few decades ago), I can’t even imagine how to learn and retain without practicing through homework.
    And as my current job as French tutor, I see everyday that my students who progress quickly are the ones doing homework everyday.
    Especially for languages, programs that promise you to teach you a language without need of memorizing exercises and homework are total waste of time and money

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We used to have homework but there has been such a kickback by parents I think it has fallen by the wayside at least at the 5 -13 year old level. Part of the malaise of the country I think.

      Like

  4. Your great nephew is lucky to have you working with him. I think it is horrifying what has happened to schools here, with math and reading and writing – that is what they are supposed to do! So what are they doing? I can’t figure it out.

    We are watching the mini series of The Last Thing He Told Me, a book I read but I only remember parts of it. It is fun to see it being acted out.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s raining here too, in fact we’ve just had a massive thunderstorm pass overhead. It’s dropped the temperature considerably though the humidity is still at 100%.
    For the first time ever I don’t have the new Rachael Johns to review, I hope you enjoy it.

    Wishing you a great reading week

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s quite windy here today, Kathryn, and we have had the occasional very light shower but the wind will have undone any good from the rain.
    They have already started the hour each of reading, writing and math at Luke’s school. He is loving it! His three favorite subjects. He loves his teacher this year too. A good teacher makes all the difference. Your great-nephew is lucky to have you. Have a great week. 💕📚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great that Luke’s school is right into it. Maximus being somewhat dyslexic does not feel quite so good about it, but I am hoping his teacher this year will help him change that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.