#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Welcome in? Feeling the season’s pressure yet? I am pacing myself but feeling a bit tired. I am surprised I read as much as I did. I spent one day in the city at my favourite bay, wandering around a new pathway they are building by the sea and leaving spaces and places for the penguins that nest there.

Then Saturday night I travelled again over to Lower Hutt for a niece’s engagement which was very enjoyable. Sunday was spent at one of my sister’s place where a large group of extended family gathered for a pre Christmas party. Some had travelled quite a distance, some coming for the engagement and then the Christmas gathering. It was really wonderful, one of my great nieces worked out my aunt who was sitting next to me was her great, great aunt. So good to gather.

So Monday time to recover, although I want to go to the shops, the fairy house I bought from my niece needs a small candle that runs on battery – I was tempted to slip one in my back from my sister’s place but refrained! She told me where I can get them and I see they have some in store. Then I need to start gift book buying. Said great niece has given me a list to choose from, so I hope I can get them in time, and if not will need to look on line.

No gardening this week, we are very windy today but I see my potatoes are still standing so something to be thankful for.  I hope to do a bit of snipping around tomorrow as well so that’s another job for Monday!

What I read last week:

The Book of Beginnings was very good, I enjoyed Peril in Paris, so good on audio. The First Year from my back log Kindle and because Lucilla Andrews was a favourite author from way back. And Devil’s Daughter because I wanted a historical romance, enjoyed it.

What I am reading now:

One from my Kindle, I need to read a few of the ones that are there!

Heaven Sent

And listening to

from NetGalley. First in a series and looks like it might also be a debut novel. I am enjoying it.

Death by Demo

Up next:

Not sure yet, a library book might come in or I will choose something off my paperback shelf. 

Last Week’s Posts

Ten Audiobooks I Bought in Audible’s Sale.   Well it was more than ten, but it was Top Ten Tuesday!

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

24 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. I am not in the slightest bit ready but I guess I’ll get ready this week! I loved Devil’s Daughter (one of my absolute favorite historical romances is A Devil in Winter so it was fun seeing those characters as the parents in that book) and Death by Demo. I hope you’ve had a great week and it has been less windy.

    Like

  2. Very windy here today, too! And COLD. We just went to the tree farm to get our tree (finally) – brrr! Sounds like a wonderful family gathering. I ordered all my gift books from our local indie bookstore last week and just got a message they are all in and ready for pick-up – yay!

    Hope you enjoy the weather, your books, and the holiday prep this week –

    Sue
    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just picked up a new book today. My son and I were touring one of the Newport Mansions in Rhode Island when I came across a book set at the mansions during the gilded age; it’s part of a murder mystery series that sounds rather fun. On impulse I decided to buy one of the autographed copies they had and give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The family festivities sounded wonderful – the best part of the holidays (after the reason for the holiday, lol). Very busy here but it’s all good. Have a nice week.

    Like

  5. It’s lovely that the engagement and the Christmas get together were able to be coordinated, Kathryn. Glad you enjoyed the get together. We have strong winds forecast for the next couple of days. I have just been out and tied my tomatoes up in preparation. What a lovely way to spend a day, wandering around a bay! Pete asked me what I wanted for Christmas, and I said some beach time. I ask for that every year . . .
    I’m glad you enjoyed The Book of Beginnings. I haven’t come across any of your other reads. Have a great week and I hope your garden survives the winds.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.