#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Welcome in. The end of August coming up! Spring coming along soon for us in the southern hemisphere. Already it feels a little like that. Still cold days but I am at the end of my firewood.

This week went by very fast as quite a few things happened. I also decided after much deliberation to get solar panels for electricity. I’ve signed up but it will be awhile before it actually happens.

What I read last week:

What I am reading now:

The young adult fantasy series – The Lunar Chronicles –  I never finished, but a July Top Ten Tuesday post I wrote made me realise I never finished this series. It’s five years since I read Scarlett the previous book, but after awhile I remembered the basics and of course there are reminders as I read along.

Cress

And just about to start  listening to…

At the Coffee Shop of Curiosities

Up next:

Review book – next book in the Haunted Library series.

Overdue or Die 

Last Week’s Posts

Contemporary Romance.

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

30 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. I bounced off the first Lunar Chronicle and was very surprised because I thought I would love it. Maybe it’s time to give the series a second chance, maybe by jumping in later.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really need to finish the Lunar Chronicles too. I can’t even remember when I read Scarlet and I bought the audio for Cress ages ago but just need to listen to it. I also want to listen to the Heather Webber book. We’ve got a lot of overlap on books right now (not surprising!) and I hope we enjoy them all!

    Like

  3. I am quite happy about the coming end of summer here – fall is my favorite season! But, as usual, stores are pushing the seasons. At the drugstore last week, the back-to-school stuff was all pushed to one end of an aisle to make room for Halloween stuff! And some stores are already selling artificial Christmas trees! 😮

    Looks like a nice variety of books for you, Kathryn – enjoy!

    Sue
    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My brother and I had solar panels installed soon after we bought this house since we have a lovely south facing roof with no trees shading it. Even though they are covered with snow about six months of the year, they still make a big difference on the electric bill. Overdue or Die is coming up to the top of my review pile soon. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kathy yes I did wonder about that snow covering so interesting. We don’t get snow where I am and some quite sunny days in winter but …. lots of grey. days too.

      Like

  5. Hi Kathryn! Oh, I think getting solar panels is a fabulous idea. As long as the sun shines you may as well capitalize on it. I’m sure the panels and installation are expensive but they will pay you back in no time. All of these books look good to me. I started over on a series from the 80s by Sara Paretsky and her detective, V.I. Warshawski. They are all set in and around Chicago which is where I work. Happy Monday to you! {{Hugs}} ~smile~ Roseanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The books sound great Roseanne, and set in a place you are familiar with. I don’t have to pay up front for these panels, just a set fee each month, its like renting the panels – for 20 years! Ha, but it can be passed on to the next owner.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Good luck with your solar panels. We had them installed last year, and we will be paying on them for awhile, but it is nice to have a much lower power bill!
    I am still plodding through the Anne Hillerman book – can’t wait to start another book, but I have to find out how this one ends. Guess I could just skim through it – lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pete and I lived totally off grid for almost a year Kathryn. We had intended to buy the house when it came on the market, but it turned out to be overpriced as the solar panels and batteries all needed replacing and there weren’t enough solar panels to run the house. Although we had bought all our whiteware low energy using, we still had to tun the generator almost every day, and even that wasn’t reliable. But, as a result of having all low energy using appliances, our electricity bill is negligible. We may, once we are finished with all the renovations, do what you are doing. Have a great week. 💕📚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I won’t be off grid but I hope it will save me on electricity. I am using SolarZero so its like renting their panels and batteries and they do all the maintenance etc. You have to sign on for 20 years but it can be passed on if you sell the house or they take it away. I hope it will work out. I think the company come from up your way.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.