#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Well I had a mixed week. Some great days visiting and being visited. Fitted in some reading of course and plenty of quilting.

However I have been saddened by all the rain north of where I live and the terrible rain and flooding, loss of homes and life in Auckland and surrounding areas. It is heartbreaking and I know this is happening in so many places. I think of the floods NSW in Australia has had. And many other places. Our weather sure has changed I believe.

What I read last week:

Sugar and Salt was good but did include a rape which would be a trigger for some readers. I did skip a little! Blackberry Summer was a reread and I revised my 2 stars up to 4 stars. Don’t know where my head was the first time I read it about ten years ago.

I just had a little more to listen to with Lady of Quality and Christmas atCopper Mountain was a novella on audio. So it looks a lot read but no – not really!

What I am reading now:

The Matzah Ball

And about to. start  listening to…

The Light We Carry

I have a couple of slow reads going on as well. The Winners by F Backman and My Reading List by P Conroy.

Up next:

Birds in the Air 

Line break

 

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

30 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. Thanks for the heads up on the Susan Wiggs book. I will definitely be prepared to skip it. I think I’m going to get The Lost and Found Bookshop this month and was planning on reading that one pretty quickly afterwards. I’ve been so sorry to hear about all the flooding in NZ. It’s so awful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Horrible flooding here on our West Coast, too. Sorry to hear of the devastation there.

    Wow, you’re brave to reread a book you originally rated 2 stars! Glad it redeemed itself for you this time 🙂

    Glad to see you’re reading The Matzah Ball! Hope you enjoy it. And I really want to read Michelle Obama’s latest. I listened to her first memoir on audio – twice – and loved it both times.

    Hope you have a good week and enjoy your books!

    Sue
    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mother Nature certainly has been wicked lately. My hope is that things calm down everywhere across the globe.

    Christmas at Copper Mountain sounds lovely. I almost ordered The Matzah Ball last week. It is still on my wish list. Hope you enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am nearing the end of Michelle Obama’s book. It has been very good! I’d love to have listened to the audio version, but I am still months away on the hold list for it. I hope you enjoy it once you begin.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sorry to hear about the flooding.
    You had some nice looking books. Finishing the Christmas reading?
    Hope this week is better for your country and you. Enjoy your reading!

    Like

  6. Ooh, I hope you enjoy The Light We Carry! I really enjoyed it!

    Yes, the weather has been crazy and I just don’t understand how people cannot see what an issue it is!

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. All the terrible weather is truly heartbreaking especially the flooding. The Jane Porter book cover looks so pretty. Your books all look really good. I hope you are enjoying them and have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sorry to hear about your rain and floods.  Just mentioned briefly this evening on news here in U.S.  Do you live in Wellington or on the South Island? Judy Zell

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi!
    I’m sorry to hear about the terrible weather; it is so sad when people lose their homes in natural disasters. I’m in NOLA this weekend for ALA’s LibLearnX conference and the people here have had too much with all the hurricanes. It seems that the city is constantly rebuilding.

    Looks like you have more good reading lined up! I still need to read Michelle Obama’s book. I’ll be reading all the books from this weekend for a while! I got so many books at the publishers’ booths!
    Jennifer

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.