Review

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Welcome in. Hope your reading week went as you wanted.

I had a good one. As well Saturday night my BIL planned a surprise celebration at a restaurant for my youngest sister for her birthday with a zero on the end. It was great and went really well. About sixteen or so of us. It’s my first time being in a restaurant since Covid was around I think.

On Friday morning  I walked into a local Paper Plus bookshop to buy a book and birthday card for my sister, when I went to the counter I was presented with a free book as they were celebrating some book day. I was first into the shop so the girl chose me! An Australian author I hadn’t heard of so its on my TBR now! So I came away with that book and the one I bought – the new Taylor Jenkins Reid one.

What I read last week:

What I am reading now:

A library book I am sneaking in among all the review books I should be reading. It is awhile since I read a book in this series but thought it would be nice to dip in.

Grace Under Fire

Up next:

A review book.

Murder on the Poet's Walk 

Last Week’s Posts

Call My Name.   Jenni Ogden

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef

21 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. The birthday celebration sounds nice! I’m guessing when you say “since COVID was around,” you mean that literally, huh? NZ did things so well with the pandemic. COVID is still everywhere here, and it still feels quite dangerous for me to go out, though we’ve eaten in some restaurants while traveling. Anyway, sounds like a wonderful family gathering – glad you got to do that!

    Looks like a nice variety of books for you last week and how fun to get a surprise freebie!

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue
    Book By Book

    Like

    1. Sue we have just moved out of masks mandated in all closed areas. We are coming out of winter so they have been cautious. Numbers are going down however I wear my mask in enclosed areas still. Except for the restaurant where knew just about everyone and wasn’t too crowded.

      Like

      1. I envy how controlled and smart things have been in NZ! They dropped mask mandates here ages ago, even with plenty of new cases. At a low now, but school just started here, so I’m expecting it to go up again. I still wear my mask, too – and I’m not getting on a plane anytime soon! Glad you got to enjoy that family dinner – we enjoyed a wonderful outdoor picnic family reunion this summer!

        Like

  2. Sounds like such a fun gathering! I’m starting the RaeAnne Thayne next and am looking forward to it as I always enjoy her Christmas books. The Ellery Adams looks great! I need to read more of her books. I own a number but just haven’t gotten around to them. I hope you have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So nice that you could celebrate with your sister at her party. I think the world is getting back to living more normally. Two of my sisters and I went on a weekend getaway complete with a stay at a hotel and eating in restaurants. We met a couple visiting from Ireland at our hotel! Have a lovely week, Kathryn.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Not familiar with any of these books in your post; I will look forward to your reviews.  I’ve been reading Our Italian Summer, a delightful book by Jennifer Probst.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.