Book Connections

Five Books Read From My Shelf in June

book cover

Count to Ten by Karen Rose. Another very good addition to this series. The bad guy is so bad and far too many murders. Had to skip some of that. Why do I read them though? The good guys – in this case Mia and Reed and the team are so dedicated to their work of bringing justice and putting themselves on the line. And there is such innate goodness in them. Loved seeing the origin of Faith Buchanan who we meet later on in the series.

4.5 stars

book coverThe Wedding Dress Sewing Circle by Jennifer Ryan. 4.5 stars. A really feel good story set in England during WW2. I love these kinds of stories that tell of women doing things that made a difference in their local community. The three characters – Grace, the vicar’s daughter, Violet daughter at the manor and Cressida – Violet’s aunt and well known dress designer all change and grow as the war goes along and various opportunities come their way. The local community and their support was wonderful and it was good seeing class barriers fall. Well worth reading. 4.5 stars

How Hard Can it Be?How Hard Can it Be sat on my shelf for three years so good to attend to it. It is set in England and tells the story of an almost fifty year old and her life with a husband, and two teens Ben and Emily.

The best part of this book was the relationship between Emily and her mother Kate. So full of the teen issues of today.

It’s not my style of book really. It is sort of Rom Com style of writing although it’s a women’s fiction novel.That said it is very well written and while the style didn’t appeal to me, the general premise and issues explored did.  3.5 stars

book coverIt took me a little while to warm into this story, The Homewreckers by Mary Kay Andrews. I think the Hollywoodish angle put me off a little. I liked Hattie and Cass and I felt they could have had more to say about what went on with the renovation of the house. That said, it was a very good read, I enjoyed the mystery – the unravelling of an old murder. Hattie’s relationship to her father-in-law, her own father and loss of a husband were all low key but provided background. There is a low burn romance and that worked out well in the end. That house would have looked amazing by the end.  4.5 stars

The Library at the Edge of the WorldNot quite sure about this book. I did find part of it overly descriptive and slow. Yet there is a charm and pull in to it. There is the library, Hanna finding her own two feet after divorce. Did I like Hanna and her mother Mary? Well in some ways not really. Who wants a gruff “keep quiet” librarian? My least favourite kind! Yet they grow on me and I was wishing them life and growth. My favourite character was Fury, the builder who obviously has a kind heart but isn’t beholden to anyone and rules can be side stepped. He is rather creative. Will I read any more. I don’t know. Our library doesn’t hold any of these books so I’d need to buy them. Will I? Time will tell.  3.5 stars.

Banner

12 thoughts on “Five Books Read From My Shelf in June”

  1. Kathryn, you’re doing so well at reading from your own shelves!

    I read Allison Pearson’s first novel, I Don’t Know How She Does It, and felt the same as you – it was good but not my usual kind of book.

    But I heard this latest novel deals with caring for aging parents – a big issue for us right now, as you know – so I was considering reading it.

    Hope you continue your great TBR journey in July!

    Sue
    2022 Big Book Summer Challenge

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve seen a few 3 star reviews of The Library at the Edge of the World, so have decided to pass on that one. However, your list today makes me wonder how many books we keep in our personal library? How I wish I could peruse the libraries of my online friends! Thank you for a peek into yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Wedding Dress Sewing Circle is high up on my TBR. I’m so glad to see how much you enjoyed it! I’ve got The Homewreckers on my TBR too and it looks fun. That’s too bad about The Library at the End of the World. It sounds like it could have been amazing with slightly better execution.

    Like

  4. I haven’t read Karen Rose for a number of years Kathryn. I have a hit and miss relationship with Mary Kay Andrews, but really want to read The Wedding Dress Sewing Circle. Have a great weekend. ❤📚

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.