#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Well what a week. I enjoyed watching the pomp and pageantry of the Inauguration of the 46th President of the USA. It was on early morning in my time zone, and while I usually wake early, that day I was so annoyed to wake later than usual and just miss the swearing in of Kamala Harris but got there for Joe Biden. Because I’ve read books by both of them I felt I knew a little about them.

After all that and jumping out of bed out of sleep I was rather dopey for the rest of the day and didn’t get much done!  I had lots of favourite parts but especially loved that gifted young woman poet.

I did get quite a bit of quilting done this week even if my reading was slight!

What I read last week:

I finished listening to an audiobook and read one review book. Slow reading week!

What I am reading now:

Book cover

And I’ve just started listening to Barack Obama’s book A Promised Land.  It will be a long haul but enjoyed the first few  hours so far.

Up next:

book cover
 

Last Week’s Posts

Heart Gifts.

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=a3325ea8d75a7b860d96

32 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. I thought Amanda Gorman did an amazing job and she was so calm under what had to be tremendous pressure. Talk about all eyes in the world on her! I like the Rhys Bowen series though I’ve missed the middle few. I think the last few have been the strongest. I’ve added the Mary Marks series to my TBR and am really looking forward to it!

    Like

    1. I think there are 8 at present and #9 comes out mid year! I think I’ll be ready to read it! I am organised to be ready! I have two from he library and the last two I bought because the library doesn’t have them!

      Like

  2. I skipped the inauguration viewing because I was running around sending off my kids to college (again). But I caught clips and I’m so glad that my country has grown-ups in the White House again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read a book about Joe Biden (but I have Jill Biden’s book on hold at the library), but I did read one about Kamala so it made it more fun to watch all the inauguration stuff. Yes, the poet was indeed lovely!

    I listened to Barack Obama’s book a few weeks ago (and also had the ebook from the library at the same time). I really enjoyed it. I was listening to “11/22/63” until it expired yesterday. Now I’m back on the waitlist for the audiobook. Bummer. But I do have the physical book from the library. It’s just quite hefty to carry around. ha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVED the swearing in last week it was so nice to not see crazy for the first time in four years. I have Barak Obama’s book in my audio library too. Great week

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope you’re not listening to A Promised Land from the library! It’s SO long! My audiobooks keep expiring on me. I kind of wish the loan period would be extended from 14 days to 21 days, but I know that would make waiting for all these books that much longer, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ooh that Rhys Bowen looks good! I read one of those. And yes what a week! A refreshing change, it must be said.

    Hope you are well this week. 🙂

    Like

  7. Amanda Gorman did such an amazing job. I loved her poem. I didn’t expect to be able to watch, but I was working from home that day and so put it on. Luckily, it was a slow enough morning I could enjoy most of it with very few interruptions.

    I hope you are enjoying your current reads! I have good things about Obama’s book.

    I hope you have a great week, Kathryn!

    Like

  8. Amanda Gorman is amazing, and I believe she has a collection that is coming out in the near future! I loved the inauguration, but I spent most of it explaining to my 10 year old son what was going on. While that was special (he wanted to watch it, his teacher excused him so he could watch it, and he had a ton of questions), I was only able to give about 75% of my attention to the actual inauguration. I watched the concert that evening and that was when I started to shed the happy tears!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was honestly surprised by how much it meant to me to see a woman sworn in as VP. I was excited about it in an intellectual way when Biden won but actually seeing Kamala sworn in? That hit me in the feels.

    Amanda Gorman, the poet, was amazing. The last three lines of her poem gave me goosebumps. “For there is always light, / if only we’re brave enough to see it / If only we’re brave enough to be it.” So powerful!

    I wish I’d had time to listen to Obama’s book but I knew I would never finish it in time to return it to the library in 3 weeks.

    Enjoy your week!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.