#IMWAYR

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading this March?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

I had a good week. I went to see Little Women. I enjoyed it although didn’t fall totally head over heels in love with this version. It covered some of about three of the books and bounced about in timeline which was a little confusing. But still worth seeing.

Well we are into March already, for most of you that’s a promise of Spring and for some of us a hint of Autumn. And of course this virus hitting the world throws in a little twist. We have one case so far in our biggest city coming in from a plane on Iran. It initiated a lot of panic buying in that city’s supermarkets. Personally I  find for me I listen and watch only a limited amount of news each day. So much of it initiates panic in us, that most likely does us more damage than the virus.

What I read last week:

Sofie Ryan’s cozy mystery was very enjoyable and I’ll choose this series to read on into. Julie Buxbaum’s book has at its centre the impact on people’s lives who lost loved ones or were in the 9/11 event, 15 years on. YA but appropriate for anyone. She writes so well and it was a 4.5 stars for me.

What I am reading now:

I managed to buy this from a local shop after searching. It published last Monday – Australian author, only read the prologue but am into it.

book cover

 

Up next:

For review

book cover
 

Line break

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c8cd94ed6d171cb9d89d

26 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading this March?”

  1. I completely agree on not watching too much news. Here on the East Coast of the US (where the only case so far is 1 in NYC, about 2 hours away), people are panicking in crazy ways – like avoiding eating Chinese food! My sons work in an Asian restaurant and say business is way down. The owners haven’t been to China since they were children. Worse (and highly embarrassing) is the recent poll that 38% of Americans are avoiding Corona beer! Best to get the news highlights and then avoid it!

    I want to read more from Julie Buxbaum – glad you are enjoying this one!

    Enjoy all of your books this week – and thanks for hosting the linkup!

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Like

  2. I have a Christmas book on my shelf by RaeAnn Thayne on my shelf and really should get to it this year – it’s been on my shelf forever! And I loved Little Women. It was just so cozy! I haven’t seen any of the other adaptations so I really have nothing else to compare it to. Anyway, have a great week!

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you enjoyed the Sofie Ryan! I’ll have to look through my cozies and find a few more series to recommend. I’ll convert you yet! The news is definitely scary these days though thankfully so far we haven’t been hit with too much panic. My mother works at The Space and Rocket Center and there have been a number of international kids canceling space camp and that is causing some issues. Enjoy your reading and have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We spent most of last week at the hospital my hubby has the flu and pneumonia and yes this virus thing is scary. Have a great week Kathryn!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The news drives me nuts. All it does is breed hate and fear. I work with people from all over the world due to my job at a national park visitor center. I have people sneezing and coughing around me on a daily basis. I just carry on with my day like I usually do and make sure to stay hydrated and wash my hands. I’m more concerned with the common flu that’s been circulating around the offices at work for the last few months, than I am about what visitors may or may not carry from their travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So true about the talk causing unnecessary panic, but nonetheless, it is frightening.

    I like the looks of JUST AN ORDINARY FAMILY.

    I am definitely looking forward to spring and summer…enjoy the onset of Autumn for you.

    Happy First-Week-of-March Reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hope and other punch lines sounds really good! The 9/11 topic is always an emotional one and written well as it seems it was I see why you it was a 4.5 stars for you! Hope you enjoy your next book as much!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Given that I live a fair distance from any city, I’m relatively unconcerned about the Coronavirus being any direct threat. I think the panic buying is absurd at this point regardless, though to be honest, we live week to week anyway, so we don’t have the income available to purchase a stockpile.

    I’m just about to start reading Just An Ordinary Family, I hope we both enjoy it.

    Wishing you a great reading week

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I didn’t like this version of Little Women that much either. And the shops today were crazy…no toilet paper (but plenty of tissues), no bottled water and no UHT milk (I really needed the last one as I don’t have a fridge in my current office)!

    Like

  10. I want to see Little Women. Totally agree on the virus thing–so much is blown out of proportion in the news. Sometimes it is best if we don’t turn on the TV.

    Great books this week. The Sea Glass Cottage should go on my list.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You’re right about all the panic. Too much hidden and lies by China and some other countries though – adds to the worry.
    Those books look interesting. I just finished a different by Thayne. Do enjoy her books. Have a great week of reading ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sounds like you had a good week. I agree that we need to have less panic in the news and in our responses. Reading helps take me away from some of the chaos. Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I agree with you that the panic can do as much or more harm than the virus. Lies from leaders also does harm, unfortunately.

    Let’s bury ourselves in some good books. I like the look of Julie Buxbaum’s book. Enjoy your week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.