Review

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

badge
It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organise yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.
Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.

Line break

Well there have been some dark days here in my country, New Zealand. My heart goes out to all those who were so brutally murdered by the terrorist in Christchurch.  The families – what an experience to have to cope with. Almost every New Zealander grieves with our Muslim community.  I say almost because there are a few who choose to hate.  I have never seen my country so sombre.

What I read last week:

A review book and one from the TBR shelf.

What I am reading now:

Loving this one off my TBR shelf.

book cover

And listening to .. well I do need to start!

Book cover

Up next:

A little dubious with this one – it is a Modern Mrs Darcy read and one for a reading challenge or two!

Book Cover
 

Last Week’s Posts

Home At Last Meredith Appleyard

Line break

 

 

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=1127c74124e7377b48eb

18 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?”

  1. I am so sorry that your homeland is going through this tragedy. As a US citizen we’ve seen too much gun violence. It’s disturbing.
    I hope to read The Library of Lost and Found soon. I loved The Sound of Glass, such good storytelling. Wishing you a better week

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, Kathryn – I am so sorry for what you and your country are going through right now. As you know, we Americans can relate to the horror and grief you are feeling, as we had a very similar terrorist attack on a mosque a few months ago. It’s shameful and horrifying.

    Glad you have some books to comfort you – The Library of Lost and Found sounds good. Thanks for hosting –

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are definitely in need of some uplifting reading this week. Such a horrible tragedy! It makes me feel so helpless reading about these gunmen. Every time I watch a TV show or see a movie with violence in it, I think about how desensitizing it is to see so much of it onscreen, and I’m sure I’ve seen far less in over 50 years than your average young man in his 20s has.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My heart is breaking for New Zealand Kathryn. The only thing I can do is believe there is still more good in this messed up world than bad and just put one foot in front of the other.

    I absolutely LOVED The Sound of Glass, White is a fave of mine.
    And I’m getting my earbuds ready for Come From Away which I reviewed editorially for RT Magazine and gave it a top pick.
    You take care Kathryn xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice that you’re enjoying some books from your own TBR shelf. That’s always a bit of a challenge. As always, thanks for hosting!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m so sorry to hear about what happened. I have clients from New Zealand that just recently came back to the States. They are mourning with you, as we all do.

    I don’t know if I’ve read that book by Karen White. I’ll need to check it out. Have a blessed week.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I was horrified by what happened and thought of you and all our New Zealand friends. Blessings to you and my thoughts and prayers are with your whole country right now.

    As for the books, I think The Library of Lost and Found looks fun. and I love that cover of The Enchanted April. Makes me think of a coastline in Italy somewhere…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am sad that there is so much hate in the world, and that the violence has come to your country, too.

    Your books look good. I loved The Sound of Glass, and want to read The Library of Lost and Found. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.