Review

The Military Wife by Laura Trentham

book cover

Published: St Martin’s Press
Date: 5th February 2019
Genre: General Fiction
Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Banner

Right from the first page I was hooked into this story that explores military life from so many different viewpoints. Firstly the men themselves, then the women who love them and the children in the family.  Military men are tough but they are also human, Laura Trentham explores PTSD, grief and loss, women who worry about their men and children who have either lost a parent to war or must tiptoe around because their dad just isn’t who he once was.

Harper Wilcox is a wonderful Mom to Ben. She has been through the mill – losing her husband Noah in a military mission. Fortunately she has the support of her mother and a delightful Ben. She wants more though about how Noah died beyond the terse military report. She believes Bennett who was on that mission may hold some answers.

Allison is Harper’s friend, she has three children and a husband who since returning from active duty has been morose and the family have had to tiptoe around him.

I liked the way the story unfolded, the characters were ones I could take into my mind and heart. The story moved along at a good pace and I think gave me a good insight into the challenges, struggles and losses of those involved in military service. While I smiled from time to time, I also teared up. So an emotional read!

Such a mixture of loss, guilt, anger, despair coupled with love, strength, support, new hope and second chances. I will most certainly look for the next book in The Heart of a Hero series.

photo of authorLaura Trentham is the award winning author of contemporary and historical romance. She is a member of RWA and has been a finalist multiple times in the Golden Heart competition. A chemical engineer by training and a lover of books by nature, she lives in South Carolina.

 

Buy links can be found here.

 

Goodreads icon

13 thoughts on “The Military Wife by Laura Trentham”

  1. I imagine this would be emotional. My sister married a naval man and I got to see some of their struggles first hand as he was in nuclear subs and would be gone many months at a time with no contact. I think it takes a special woman with strength to be a military wife. I am noting this story for my wish list. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

  2. I’ll be keeping an eye out for this one. I’ve lived that life (ex-husband was in the Navy; after we split up, I swore I’d never date a military guy ever again…and then promptly fell in love with an old friend who was deployed with the Army National Guard. We’ve been married 11 years now…), and I’d love to see the author’s treatment of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.