Review

A Thousand Roads Home by Carmel Harrington

book coverPublished: HarperCollins
Date: October 2018
Format: Trade Paperback
Pages: 440
Genre: Mainstream Fiction
Source: Library
Rating of book
Goodreads callout

Banner

Firstly thank you to Trish from Between My Lines who intrigued me with her review of A Thousand Roads Home by Irish author Carmel Harrington.  It is the first book I have read by this author and I do believe I have discovered another author I will want to read more from.

This book grabbed me by the heart and I just had to keep reading it, it engaged me from the first page and didn’t let me go all the way through. When I had finished it I didn’t want to have finished it. I loved all the characters, cheered when things when well for them, chuckled sometimes and reached for the tissues quite often!

The story explores homelessness, having Asperger’s syndrome, being a single parent, being lost and in grief and so much more. And… it shows how one person with their kindness and compassion can change the world one person at a time.

It is set in Ireland and very authentically Irish, but… it is an universal story and has issues we can all relate to one way or another. If you can, read it – it is indeed “warm, powerful and unforgettable.”

Read Trish’s review here just to check it out! I haven’t gone into details, let’s just say I won’t ever forget it.

book icon

book icon Book iconBook icon

For USA readers this will be published there in June 2019.

15 thoughts on “A Thousand Roads Home by Carmel Harrington”

  1. Pingback: URL
  2. Thanks Kathryn I am interested and am putting this on my June calendar to remind me. Great review just the kind of book I love too

    Like

    1. I don’t know about the USA market Mary. I know it shows up in Amazon for me on Kindle and Paperback but that still doesn’t really let me know whether it is available in the USA. Watch your library though as you never know!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.